Video: Umpires review, uphold Nick Franklin homer that hit the “C” ring at Tropicana Field

HardballTalk

Rays second baseman Nick Franklin gave his club a 2-0 lead in the top of the second, or so he thought, when he clubbed a Hector Noesi fastball way up in the air down the right field line. Right fielder Avisail Garcia ranged back and appeared to run out of room when, all of a sudden, the ball dropped straight back down and out of play.

The initial ruling was a home run, but White Sox manager Robin Ventura asked the umpires to review the call. According to the ground rules at Tropicana Field, any ball that hits either catwalk labled the “C” or “D” ring is a homerun. Franklin struck the “C” ring. As expected, the umpires upheld the initial ruling of a home run.

The homer is Franklin’s first in the majors as a member of the Rays.

View original post

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s